Skip to content

One of My All-Time Hobby Highlights: Being Interviewed for an Yzerman Story

November 25, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

A couple of weeks ago I posted a review of the 2012 Toronto Fall Sports Card and Memorabilia Expo and in that article I mentioned a truly unique moment that took place while I was there.

That unique moment happened when I stopped by the Beckett Media booth at the show and saw a stack of the yet to be released December edition of Beckett Hockey featuring my hockey hero Steve Yzerman.

I grabbed a copy and began flipping through the pages in search of the story dedicated to his cover appearance, quickly finding it on pages 10 and 11.

Almost as soon as I started reading the article I came across what is definitely one of the all-time highlights of my involvement in this hobby: I was reading my name and quotes from me in an article!

Seeing my name staring back at me wasn’t actually a surprise.  The surprise came in late October when Beckett Hockey Editor Susan Lulgjuraj got in touch through my Facebook page to see if I’d be interested in sharing my thoughts on Yzerman’s place in the hobby.

Turns out that Susan read my article about the In The Game Enshrined Autograph 1 of 1 Gold Parallel of Yzerman that was added to my collection earlier in the month.  The image of that card is featured in the article, along with my only other 1 of 1 of Yzerman, an In The Game Ultimate Memorabilia jersey card.

We exchanged a couple of messages and she emailed me some questions to answer, which I was more than happy to do. 

I wasn’t certain that my answers would be used in the story, but I was hopefully I’d find them in there.  In the end I was quoted a number of times, which was pretty cool to see.

After finding the article and showing it to my dad, a person who works for Beckett came over to talk with us.  My dad mentioned the article to him and he turned around and called over to one of his colleagues at the booth. 

That colleague just happened to be Susan and she came over to have a quick chat with us.  Meeting the writer live and in person was just an added bonus to the entire experience.

Say what you will about Beckett and the direction they have taken their publications over the years, but the reality is that many people still consider them to be one of the most significant authorities in the hobby.  To have been interviewed for a story in one of their magazines and to have been provided the opportunity to talk about something that I have a passion for definitely ranks up there among the most significant highlights ever for me in this hobby.

###

If you’ve read the story I’d be very interested in hearing from you.  Get in touch by posting a comment, sending me an e-mail, or connecting with me on Facebook and Twitter.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

