Skip to content

Annual Review: Overview

December 16, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

With 2012 rapidly approaching its end, I have begun the process of looking back on my successes and failures once again.

This will be the second year in a row that I will go through this exercise, something that has been inspired by one of my favourite bloggers; Chris Guillebeau of The Art of Non-Conformity.

Since I expanded my list of Goals and Objectives this year to fifteen and categorized them under three different areas of focus, it’s simply too much to cover in a single post like I did last year.

So beginning on Wednesday I will be addressing each category in its own post, starting off with a review of the five specific items I identified in the Collecting category.  Results related to my “Business” category will follow a week from today, with my Writing category wrapping things up on Boxing Day.

In addition to those fifteen items there is my ultimate goal for my hobby of making it 100% financially self-sufficient.  Unfortunately, that goal will remain unachieved for the third consecutive year.  

While disappointing, I can certainly take solace in the fact that I have moved progressively closer to achieving that goal with each passing year.  Though the final numbers won’t be in for another couple of weeks, it appears as though I will have come close enough in 2012 that achieving this goal should be well within reach in 2013…as long as I stick to a plan and remain disciplined about it.

The next three posts you’ll see on this blog will not include as many stories of success as I would like either.  Those of you who read my monthly Self-Sufficiency Summary articles will know that things didn’t progress quite the way I had hoped this year. 

But the benefit of this is that I can use these lessons to shape the direction I take in 2013 and allow me to set realistic and useful goals for the year to come.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

