Skip to content

Annual Review: Year-End Self-Sufficiency Summary

December 30, 2012

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Today’s post marks the final installment of 2012 here at the bbbros.ca blog and as has been the case with my last post of each month of the year today’s article will deal with the progress I’ve made towards the accomplishment of my goals and objectives.

But since I have already reviewed each of my Collecting, “Business”, and Writing categories in individual posts leading up to today’s send-off to 2012, today’s post won’t go into nearly the same detail as previous Self-Sufficiency Summary articles have.

Instead, I’ll focus on some of the lessons that were learned over the course of the year, along with the most significant goal that I am attempting to achieve: a financially self-sufficient hobby.

If you read the individual category reviews you’ll know that it was a very mixed bag of results as I ended the year with 7 goals achieved, 5 objectives partially achieved, and 3 not achieved.

The Writing category was the runaway winner of the lot, as I felt I had achieved every one of the five objectives that I set for myself at the beginning of the year.

Unfortunately the success I had in the Writing category came largely at the expense of the other two categories.

With only so many hours available to focus on my hobby each week the Writing category gradually seemed to take over most of my hobby related time.  As best I can tell this was mostly due to the fact that it was also the only category that involved a defined schedule to follow and hold myself accountable to.

While I’m happy that this increased focus on the writing portion of my personal mega-hobby allowed me to accomplish all of my goals for the year in this category, it was somewhat counterintuitive to the pursuit of my ultimate goal of a financial self-sufficiency.

My priorities ought to be in the order that I wrote about them in my Annual Review series of posts: my collection; revenue generation through my “business” to fund that collection; and then the chronicling of my progress toward that goal through my writing.  By the end of the year it almost felt like the opposite.

This imbalance will necessitate a change in approach for 2013, something I have been aware of for quite some time and will be introducing early in the New Year.  Think of it as something of a reprioritization/rebalancing of how I’ll be spending my time on the three aspects of my personal mega-hobby in pursuit of a financially self-sufficient hobby.

Speaking of that ultimate goal, based on the numbers I have in thus far, along with a projection of my eBay Store related expenses over the next couple of days, it looks as though I will fall short by about $700 over the course of this year.

Though that may sounds like a large number, when you break it down it comes in at less than $60 per month.

While it’s still a long way off from having the unwanted pieces of my collection fund the acquisition of items I do want, $60 a month really is not a hefty sum to have paid when you consider that I removed well over 1,000 cards from my want lists over the course of the year.

This is also an absolutely massive step in the right direction when compared to 2011 when I poured more than $2,000 into my hobby beyond the money I generated from my eBay sales.

All told, 2012 was a pretty good year for me when it comes to my hobby.  Not everything went the way I had hoped, but what in life does?  At the very least I have gained more experience and learned more lessons that can be used to help mold my plan for the coming years and guide me ever-closer to achieving my ultimate goal.

###

I’d like to extend a very special “thank you” to everyone who read this blog over the course of the year.  Visits to my articles blog more than doubled from the total I had in 2011 and the number of interactions I had with fellow writers and collectors increased significantly as well.

Stay tuned for more information about where I plan on taking things in 2013 early in the New Year.

Remember than you can receive instant updates anytime I post a new article by subscribing to this blog using the RSS feed or by clicking the “Sign Me Up!” button in the right column of the page.

Your questions, comments or feedback are always welcome too.  You can get in touch with me anytime by commenting on an article, connecting on Facebook and Twitter, or emailing me at bb_bros@hotmail.com.

Until Wednesday, all the best in your collecting pursuits and have a safe and happy New Year!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

