Skip to content

Blogging Changes for 2013

January 6, 2013

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Those of you who read this blog with any regularity may have noticed something out of the ordinary earlier this week: I didn’t post my usual Wednesday article, posting on Thursday instead.

Although that missed post was entirely accidental (I left the flash drive it was stored on sitting on my desk at work when I left the office on Wednesday) it was actually a perfect way to lead into the topic of today’s article which is to address some of the changes that are coming to my blogging approach.

In my 2013 Goals and Objectives post I identified the rebranding of my blog as a major priority item for the coming year.  A major change to be sure, but a change that is potentially much more significant change was not noted in that article.

That change will involve shifting from a regimented posting schedule of every Wednesday and Sunday to a process of posting whenever I want to.

Despite the fact that I felt I had a great deal of success in achieving my Writing related goals in 2012, I mentioned in my most recent article that much of that success came at the expense of my Collecting and “Business” categories, something I wasn’t willing to continue with in 2013.

With a very limited number of hours available to focus on my hobby I often found myself using up most of them on writing blog posts instead of adding new items to my eBay Store or scouring the various online locales I use to track down new items for my collection.

Even with the bulk of my limited hours being dedicated to the writing aspect, life also started getting in the way (i.e. triathlon training, spending time with my wife, and increased demands of my day job to name a few) and by the end of the year I was often scrambling just to get an article put together and posted prior to my self-imposed deadline.

This is not how I want to go about my writing, so I decided that a change was due.

I want to post when it fits my schedule, not base my schedule around posting. 

I want to post when I feel I have something to say rather than saying something because my posting schedule dictates that I have to. 

I want to have the opportunity for increased connection with fellow collectors and bloggers.

I think this change will provide me with a much better system to achieve all of those things.

I’m very interested to see how this change will affect my writing.  From following as many blogs as I have for as long as I have, I have come to realize that there is no formula for success other than generating content that people actually want to read and can connect with.  That will remain my #1 priority with my writing, regardless of the frequency of my posting.

Many of my favourite hobby-related blogs appear to follow the “post when I can/feel like it” approach and it appears to work well for them.  Hopefully it does for me as well. 

I’m really looking forward to the freedom this change will present me with.  The strict posting schedule often left me behind the times when it came to giving my thoughts on current events in the hobby.  It also meant I couldn’t provide updates on my collection (i.e. brag posts) with the regularity I would have liked.  There’s a very real chance that could all change with this shift in process.

At the same time though, I am somewhat concerned that this change may inadvertently have the opposite effect and result in long – or worse, permanent – dry spells in my posting.  I have trouble envisioning a time that I simply stop posting, but without a schedule to hold myself accountable to I do wonder if that day will come.  I’ll be doing everything I can to ensure that doesn’t happen though.

So don’t look at today’s post falling on a Sunday as a sign of things to come.  I have some ideas in the hopper for some upcoming posts, but I’ll be getting to those when I can.

If you’ve been reading for a long time I hope you will continue to do so.  If you’re new to this blog I hope you decide to stick around.

You can receive instant updates each and every time I post a new article by subscribing to this blog using the RSS feed or by clicking the “Sign Me Up!” button in the right column of the page.

Feel free to get in touch at any time by commenting on an article, connecting on Facebook and Twitter, or emailing me at bb_bros@hotmail.com.

Until next time, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | My eBay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2013 10:20 PM

    I hear you on posting according to your schedule and not the other way around. I thought about doing some weekly series of posts on Card Boarded, but never went through with it because I did not want to be “forced” to write something just because i needed to stick to a certain schedule.

    Definitely looking forward to what you come up with in the future. Good luck with the changes.

Trackbacks

  1. Mail Day! Masterpieces Master Set Project Progress Report « the bbbros.ca blog
  2. Sometimes It Seems Like There Just Aren’t Enough Hours In A Day « the bbbros.ca blog

Leave a Reply

