Skip to content

Mail Day! Mario Lemieux Collection Project Progress Report

January 10, 2013

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Hot on the heels of my first Mail Day! post of the year comes a second one, this time with an update to my brother’s Mario Lemieux collection that arrived in the mail on Tuesday.

Shortly before the holidays got started in December I won an auction for another piece of my 2008-09 Upper Deck Masterpieces master set project (more on that in an upcoming post).

As I do with every auction I win, I immediately checked out what else the seller had available for sale, searching for anything from my want lists and keeping an eye out for items I could potentially flip for a profit in my ebay store.  

While scouring through this seller’s listings I came across this beauty from In The Game’s 2010-11 Enshrined release:

10-11 ITG Enshrined Lemieux

As you may recall from last year’s post about the new holy grail of my Steve Yzerman collection, I am a big fan of this set.

There’s nothing flashy about these cards, but this is one of those cases where the simplicity of the design definitely makes things better.

The thick card stock and extremely detailed, life-like player portraits on a full-bleed white background gives the cards a premium product look and feel.

This is the base set version of the card and is numbered to just 175 copies.  Unlike the Yzerman autograph that I have, the art on the base set cards is in colour as opposed to black and white.

This isn’t a product I see a lot of at Toronto Expo shows and is the first such example I had seen of Lemieux posted on eBay.  So to pick tack it on to an existing order for a measly $5 was an absolute no-brainer.

Another nice addition to kick off the first full week of the collecting year!

I don’t have a complete Lemieux want list posted online (yet), so if you have anything you think I might be interested in then you’ll have to get in touch directly for the time being.

Post a comment, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com to let me know what you’ve got.

Until next time, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

