Skip to content

Motown Madness!

January 16, 2013

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

It was only a couple of days ago that I was posting an article expressing my significant disappointment about a product from In The Game. 

Today’s post, however, is the total opposite from that position when it comes to what the company has planned for this season.

In the same e-newsletter that ITG sent me that contained what I felt was disappointing news about its Heroes & Prospects, along with a follow-up e-newsletter yesterday, release was information about a product that has me more excited than any product from any manufacturer in recent memory.

That product is a Detroit Red Wings focused product that In The Game is calling “Motown Madness”.

As a Red Wings fan this is basically as close to a dream product as you can possibly get!

Paul over at Card Boarded has already posted something expressing his own excitement over Motown Madness and much like Paul, for the first time in a long time I am excited enough about a product to give serious consideration to buying a box as soon as possible after its release.

I’ll have to wait and see what my collecting finances look like when it hits the shelves at the end of February, but if it fits the budget then I’ll be giving it significant consideration.

Even if I don’t pull any of the (apparently many) Yzerman cards featured inside, a box would still give me 5 base set cards, 4 autographs, 2 memorabilia cards, and 1 Patch of Honor insert, all featuring players from a team I’ve been a fan of since childhood.

So while I may not be racing the local card shop in search of Heroes & Prospects, you might just see me there picking up a box of Motown Madness in just a few weeks time.  Kudos to In The Game for putting something together that has me as excited about collecting as I am right now!

###

Will you be collecting Motown Madness or leaving it to the die-hard Red Wings fans?  Do you even like team-themed products such as this (or last year’s Philadelphia Flyers themed Broad Street Boys from ITG)?

Post a comment, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com and let me know your thoughts.

Until next time, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay Store | My Want List | RSS Feed

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2013 12:22 PM

    Can’t wait for this stuff to come out. I’m interested to see how these cards will do on the secondary market, as I’m not counting on pulling any of my PC guys if I happen to buy a box.

Trackbacks

  1. Mail Day! Masterpieces Master Set Project Progress Report, V.2 « the bbbros.ca blog
  2. Bad News for NHL Rookie Card Collectors in 2012-13 « the bbbros.ca blog

Leave a Reply

