Skip to content

Mail Day! Masterpieces Master Set Project Progress Report, V.2

January 17, 2013

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

My last couple of posts have focused on my thoughts about a pair of upcoming releases from In The Game, but with the mail steadily delivering new additions to my collection it’s time to play a little catch-up in highlighting the latest removals from my want lists

Today’s card arrived in the same package and was the reason that I stumbled across the Mario Lemieux In The Game Enshrined card I posted about last week.  That card is the second addition to my 2008-09 Upper Deck Masterpieces Master Set project; a Terry O’Reilly Brushstrokes Brown Border Autograph.

08-09 UD Masterpieces Brushstrokes O'Reilly

The Brushstrokes Autograph set is one of the most attractive sets of cards I’ve ever seen.

As I’ve said in the past, I am far from a retro themed product collector.  In fact Masterpieces is the only the third retro-themed product that I can ever remember actually wanting to put together, so there is no preexisting bias involved in that opinion.

The autograph is directly on the canvas-like card stock, well-placed in a clearly visible and prominent place on the card, and nicely framed in by the raised border that accentuated with gold foil.

This particular example only ran me $8, which is a pretty decent price for a Brushstrokes card at this point in time.  Don’t be fooled by “book value” on this product.  My experience in chasing this set tells me (and a quick review of ebay sales and asking prices can show you) how far off base Beckett’s pricing is on Masterpieces.

Acquiring this card puts me at 33 of the 81 cards from the Brown Border variation of this set now in my collection, or just slightly over the 40% mark.

One more step in the right direction of what is sure to be a long and expensive process.

Check out my want list and let me know if you have anything for me from Masterpieces or any of the other sets I’m currently working my way towards completing.  You can post a comment, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com to let me know if you have anything I need.

Until next time, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

