Skip to content

Mail Day! Masterpieces Master Set Project Progress Report, V.3

January 19, 2013

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

I’m still working to get caught up on my project addition posts and today I’m knocking five cards off in one shot.

Shortly before Christmas I placed a couple of orders through Check Out My Cards, the second of which arrived early in the New Year and contained a five-spot of cards for my Masterpieces Master Set project, among other things.

Included in those cards were Blue Border parallels /50 of Peter Stastny, Steve Shutt, and Willie O’Ree, a Green Border parallel /99 of Rod Langway, and a Canvas Clippings Green Border /85 of Wendel Clark.

08-09 UD Masterpieces COMC Lot

Both the Shutt and the Langway cards finished off the rainbow for me (base, Blue Border /50, Brown Border, Green Border /99, and Red Border /25), while the each of the other three cards brought me within the Red Border variation of completing the rainbow for them as well.

At an average cost of less than $4.50 per card (shipping included), this purchase was a no-brainer for me.  Many of my Masterpieces acquisitions come in the form of one-offs at prices right in the range of what I paid for these.  But when those one-off acquisitions force me to pay shipping individually on each card, the costs really start to add up. 

By adding a batch of cards at the same time with a flat shipping charge on the lot I likely saved myself a few dollars that can now be put towards other items I want for my collection.

With these acquisitions I’m now up to 56 of the 87 Blue Border /50 cards, 64 of the 87 Green Border /99 cards, and 38 of the 67 Canvas Clippings Green Border /85 cards.

Slow and steady is the usual theme with this set, so five additions in one shot certainly ups the ante a bit this time around. 

If you have any Masterpieces cards you think I might be interested in then please have a look at my want list and let me know what you’ve got and what you’re looking for in return (trade or sale, with trade being my preference).  You can post a comment, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com to get in touch.

Until next time, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

