Skip to content

Mail Day! Masterpieces Master Set Project Progress Report, V.4

February 9, 2013

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook
my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

In an effort to clear the back log of collection addition related posts I have been intending to write, today I’ll be lumping a trio of separate purchases into a single post.

Each of the three purchases relates to my 2008-09 Upper Deck Masterpieces Master Set project, so I figured it was more than ok to condense things this time around.

First to arrive in the mail among the three purchases was this Clark Gillies Red parallel /25:

2008-09 UD Masterpieces Red Gillies

This card puts me up to 29 of the 87 Red Border cards; exactly one-third of the set.  It also leaves me with only the Green Border /99 variation left to chase of Gillies, which I expect will be a fairly affordable card to acquire should I ever come across it.

Speaking of the Green Border cards, the next purchase to arrive included a pair of them in the form of Ron Hextall and Dale Hawerchuk:

2008-09 UD Masterpieces Greens

The acquisition of these two pushes me past the 75% mark for the Green Border set as I now sit with a total of 66 cards in my collection.

Finally, a pair of cards from the once forgotten 5×7 Box toppers piece of this project arrived in the mail early this week to round out the cards included in this post:

2008-09 UD Masterpieces 5x7s

As I said in my post from way back on Canada Day, these cards are just incredible to look at in-hand.  Unlike some jumbo variations, everything that is great about the regular sized card is just accentuated when it’s blown up.  I’m very happy to have acquired these two cards (up to 15 of the 24 or 62.5%), particularly when the cost was less than $8.50 for both, which included delivery from the US.

I won a couple more Masterpieces cards in ebay auctions that I’m still waiting on, so stay tuned for another post related to this project coming soon. 

In the meantime, if you have any Masterpieces cards you’re looking to part with then please have a look at my want list and let me know if you have something that I need.  You can post a comment, connect on Facebook and Twitter, or email me at bb_bros@hotmail.com to get in touch.

Until next time, all the best in your collecting pursuits!

Ryan

Email Me | Twitter | Facebook | my ebay store | My Want List | RSS Feed

Leave a Reply

